What does DCS do in Arizona? The Arizona Department of Child Safety is charged with child protection, but we also serve as a visionary leader in primary prevention, partnering with other family-serving agencies and community organizations to improve community health and strengthen families.

How do I fight DCS in Arizona? 

If you have a dispute with DCS, follow the following steps:
  1. Step 1: Attempt to Resolve Disputes with the DCS Caseworker.
  2. Step 2: Elevate Concern to DCS Supervisor.
  3. Step 3: Contact the DCS Office of the Ombudsman or utilize the DCS Grievance process.
  4. Step 4: Contact the State of Arizona Ombudsman-Citizens’ Aide Office.

How long does DCS have to investigate in Arizona? An investigation, by law, should last no more than 60 days. After that, it becomes part of a case backlog.

How do I report someone to CPS in Arizona? How is the report made? Mandated reporters can call the Child Abuse Hotline at 1-888-767-2445 (1-888-SOS-CHILD) or a law-enforcement officer. There’s also an online DCS system to report non-emergency concerns, which are made when a child is not in immediate risk of serious harm.

What does DCS do in Arizona? – Additional Questions

What are valid reasons to call CPS?

This includes physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional maltreatment, and exposure to domestic violence. Neglect refers to situations in which a child’s caregiver fails to provide adequate clothing, food or shelter, deliberately or otherwise.

Can you anonymously report someone to CPS?

Reporting a concern

The sooner you contact your local children’s social care duty team, the quicker they can act. They’re available 24 hours a day, and can make an anonymous report if that feels safer.

Can you call CPS anonymously in Arizona?

Can I report a concern anonymously? Currently the Online Reporting Service is for Mandated Reporters and is reserved for individuals who are willing to identify themselves as the reporting source. Please be aware that the identity of reporting sources is strictly confidential, per ARS 8-807.

What is considered child neglect in Arizona?

On the other hand, Arizona defines child neglect as the inability or unwillingness of a parent, guardian, or custodian of a child to provide that child with supervision, food, clothing, shelter or medical care if that inability or unwillingness causes unreasonable risk of harm to the child’s health or welfare.

What happens when a parent is reported to social services?

If they suspect a child might be at risk of harm, they have to look into the child’s situation and take steps to keep them safe. They might decide to put the child on a protection plan. They may interview or medically examine your child without you present.

What are grounds for CPS to remove a child Arizona?

If your child faces serious neglect or abuse, DCS is required to take action, which may include removing your child from your home.

What is an unfit parent in Arizona?

The legal definition of an unfit parent is when the parent through their conduct fails to provide proper guidance, care, or support. Also, if there is abuse, neglect, or substance abuse issues, that parent will be deemed unfit.

How can a mother lose custody in Arizona?

Neglect. Neglecting the welfare of a child can give reason enough to the state to remove a child from the parents’ custody. Not giving a child the sufficient care due to “inability or unwillingness” can cause serious physical and emotional problems in their lifetime.

Can social services take my child away without evidence?

Can social services take my child away? Social services will usually only take a child away from their parents if they believe that the child is at risk of harm or neglect in their current circumstances. They are obliged to investigate any complaints or concerns reported to them.

What do social services look for in a home visit?

Aside from food, water, and shelter, kids also need to have fun. The social worker will look for some toys, or other items that belong to your kids. Don’t panic if your children’s room is a little messy, the social worker is only making sure they have a livable space in your home.

Can social services watch my house?

Re: Can social workers just enter and search your home

You have every right to refuse any social service people admission to your home. They would have to go away and get police assistance + court order (they would have to provide enough evidence to a judge it was an emergency, that your kids were at risk).

How long can a child stay on a child protection plan?

How long will my child have a child protection plan for? Usually a child will require a child protection plan for no longer than two years. By that stage the work undertaken with the family usually means that the child is no longer at risk.

Why would social services take a child away?

What are the common reasons social services would want to remove a child from a family? There are many reasons why a child could be removed from their home and placed outside of family and friends, but common reasons include abuse, neglect, illness, or abandonment.

Should I be worried on a child protection plan?

A child should only be placed on a child protection plan if there are concerns that the child is at continuing risk of significant harm. If there is a split decision amongst the professionals, then the majority decision will rule. The professionals must decide the category of harm for the child.

Why do social workers check bedrooms?

Believe it or not, it’s to check if the child has clean sheets on the bed, as this is one of the things they use as a measure of neglect (?!). Or so I’ve been told during a previous visit (about 6 years ago). They are also allowed to check how clean your toilets are, apparently another SS indication of neglect.

Can social services check my phone?

Re: Social services phone tapping

If a social worker is worried about a child, by law, they have to find out as much as they can about a child’s situation. However, they do not have the legal power to tap phones. They could check the open part of social media accounts, such as Facebook.

Can a social worker speak to a child alone?

When talking to the child, the social workers must observe and communicate with them in a manner appropriate to his age and understanding. If a parent does not provide consent for the social worker to speak to the child on their own, professionals may become more concerned for the child’s safety and well-being.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.